Sleepy Hollow and the Suspension of Disbelief

Before we watch tonight’s new episode of Sleepy Hollow, I thought I’d contemplate on last week’s episode. Mostly on how I have to put on my “Suspension of Disbelief Hat” (hereafter known as the SBH) so that I don’t want to beat the writers.

Sleepy Hollow

A good chunk of it is the linguist in me that says “But he shouldn’t be able to understand our English!” and “British accents didn’t sound like that then!” This is wrong and everyone should know that. But again, we’ve put on the SBH, so I’m going to ignore it. For now.

I should also put it out there that I’m enjoying the bad-ass black female lead, Abbie Mills. Particularly since she’s barely over five feet tall. I don’t know what it is that makes me either laugh or cry at this. It could be how freakishly tall it makes Ichabod Crane look next to her. She’s fun and spunky, which is nice. And black, which is even better. It may make me a bad person, but I kinda wanted Crane to make a bigger deal about her being a black female police officer. Make the show more serial.

Which brings me to another gripe, Ichabod Crane just goes with the flow with the whole 21st century thing. Shouldn’t that be a bigger deal than he’s making it. Maybe I just think that things have changed a lot since the Revolutionary War, and he shouldn’t be so cool about this. Perhaps it is something for me to look forward to in the future.

Like the heads a rollin. I’m loving the decapitations up in here (That was me being gangsta, by the way. It thankfully doesn’t happen very often). I was a little worried in the beginning that broadcast television wasn’t going to be able to show that much. The cauterized wound thing saved that nice and neatly. Thank the gods. I admit, I would enjoy the blood a bit more than just the rolling bodies, but there is something special about a rolling head that doesn’t have blood oozing out of it. So much cleaner.

Overall, I’m looking forward to seeing more from this. I know, it may sound like I’m not a fan, but all these things that I’m complaining about, really are part of the Sleepy Hollow charm. It’s kinda kitchy so far, and it really needs to get some comedic relief soon, and I’m looking forward to more. I admit, the end with the Pans’s Labyrinth-esque beast-thing totally freaked me out.

And while we’re on endings… 7 YEARS?! OMG the hubris!

What about you? Thoughts on this new series? Keep for 7 years, or say sayonara after tonight?

About Merry Merino

It has recently come to my attention that I enjoy television too much. So I figure I should have a centralized location for all my fun theories and thoughts on the matter, frivolous and not, and sharing them to random strangers has far too much appeal than it should.
This entry was posted in Dramas, The First Season and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

