On Hannibal… and Hair…

I hate to admit it, but part of the reason why I didn’t jump right into Hannibal is because I didn’t get it. The shots were really arty, I was kinda confused as to what the point of Will and Dr. Lecter’s characters were, and I just don’t get the appeal of serial killers. Which is probably why I completely brushed over The Following. That, and it was just some poor writing.

But now that I’ve watched a few episodes, rewatched The Silence of the Lambs, and did a little research, I feel like I can say that I’m warming up to it. My little brother and sometimes TV buddy, who will henceforth only be referred to as “Dude,” liked it right away. He loved the serial killers, thought the characters were interesting, and figured it dark enough to survive.

Who would have thought that there would be a time where we would consider if a show was dark or gritty enough to survive? Sure, some people were afraid it would be too gritty and dark, especially for  a network show, but I was afraid of the opposite. If it wasn’t gruesome enough, Hannibal wouldn’t live up to its name, and people would complain that it probably would have done better on a cable channel. Thankfully, NBC took the plunge, because if it was any lighter, I don’t think it would have survived.

Dr. Lector's OfficeMaybe I just had to get to know the characters a little better, because they struck me as very artificial in the pilot. Too much of the depth of the characters was established through some very flat characteristics that I didn’t think they would be able to hold up through the season. Plus, the cinematography is not helping at all here. The wide-framed shots are really not working for me. Yes, I admit, the sets are beautiful, but do you mind getting a little closer to the actors? Yes, I know it’s a cheap TV move, but it works. It’s bad enough I have my entire living room between me and these characters, do you have to add Dr. Lecter’s expansive office to the mix?

And while we’re on the subject of Dr. Lecter, can we discuss the atrocity that is his hair? For the life of me I couldn’t figure out why Dr. Lecter just screamed Sleazy-Older-Wealthy-Guy to me, and I finally figured it out last night: the strange highlights. Seriously, he has grey highlights! What?! Combined with the clearly dyed-blonde highlights and caramel lowlights, I can’t help but laugh at his head every time he’s on screen. Yes, I realize this is incredibly superficial of me, but I keep waiting for him to show up to a fundraiser with a clearly younger bottled blonde named Candi on his arm. He’s possibly worse than the Dos Equis guy. Mads Mikkelsen, do something about your hair. It’s ridiculous.

What is with those highlights?!

What is with those highlights?!

About Merry Merino

It has recently come to my attention that I enjoy television too much. So I figure I should have a centralized location for all my fun theories and thoughts on the matter, frivolous and not, and sharing them to random strangers has far too much appeal than it should.
This entry was posted in Dramas, The First Season and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Hannibal… and Hair…

  1. Storm says:

    I love NBC’s dark show. Seems to be a response to AMC’s walking dead or Showtime’s Dexter. I need and love the grit!

  2. So that’s what’s up with Mads hair….I couldn’t figure it out either, although I do like him – gray or blonde highlights or not 🙂 But I never knew that one could have gray highlights added in. No wonder I’m no hair stylist/cosmetologist/barber whatever

  3. whitney says:

    mads mikkelsen is totally GREY haired. solid silver. his hair must be dyed to cover all of it. his eyebrows must be penciled in because they are white.

Leave a Reply

