American Horror Story Asylum: Where Was the Focus?!

This season and I were a bit tumultuous. The beginning had me a little disappointed, but I expected it to pick up later. Thankfully, three/four episodes in, it did. Hard. I was definitely all on the freaky train. I was cool with that. American Horror Story is supposed to freak me out, but in a normality kind of way. I enjoyed how mundanely creepy season one was.

Season two, not so much. It was all over the place, and I’m not entirely sure what the meaning of any of it was. Mostly the fact that it was all over the place. Seriously, what? There was absolutely no coherence to the entire plot. I couldn’t follow anything for more than a minute. I get that it was supposed to be in a different direction than season one, but this is one case where you probably shouldn’t fix what isn’t broken. Season two lacked a lot of focus.

Hopefully season three will return to what made season one so great. It was all connected, but featured slightly self contained episodes. I think they were biting a few more plot lines than they could chew. American Horror Story needs focus to be successful. This season was not that.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed every minute of it. The development of Bloodyface and the fragmentation of that family was great, and the brutality of Dr. Arden and the devil Sister Mary Eunace was truly inspiring. I’m not entirely sure what was going on with Kit and his aliens. But unlike last season, I don’t think the stories other than Bloodyface got well wrapped up. I actually cared more about the Dr. Arden/Sister Mary Eunace bit a heck of a lot more than the Bloodyface bit. More thrilling, and I feel like it had a lot of potential that it just didn’t get. Maybe they should have just left those out.

Lana and Kit

Focus and breadth. Show how people are all connected to something central, regardless of their potential disconnect. And not just by location. That’s just not good enough.

And from what I hear of season three, we might just be able to get that. Fragmented focus. Gosh I hope so. And more Evan Peters. You can never have too much Evan Peters.

About Merry Merino

It has recently come to my attention that I enjoy television too much. So I figure I should have a centralized location for all my fun theories and thoughts on the matter, frivolous and not, and sharing them to random strangers has far too much appeal than it should.
This entry was posted in Dramas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

