Powerful Mondays are Back!

I love SyFy. Even though they have kinda let me down a bit in the past few years, I will almost always give them a pass. I’m naïve and nice like that. So with the return of their Powerful Mondays, I have a reason to watch SyFy again, and I couldn’t be happier about it.

I should probably preface this by saying that I don’t watch Being Human. I’m a hard British version person on this one, and the first season was just too deja vu for me to continue. If I have enough time, I might put it on the list to be watched later, but as of now, Being Human is out. Besides, The Following comes out next week at the same time slot (9pm EST) and I’m really excited about that one.

PowerfulMondays

Powerful Monday started with Continuum, and I couldn’t be happier that SyFy picked up this other gem from Canada’s Showcase. I will admit, I did cheat last year and watch a couple of the episodes online. I was still sitting pretty on my high from Endgame and Lost Girl, and I needed more, and it was there. But I stopped when I found out it was going to be picked up, so I only watched like three episodes. I was good.

I love Continuum, even though its pacing is a little slower than some of the stuff I’m used to. It’s almost feels like a throwback to the 1990’s and early 2000’s but with way better graphics. And did I mention how much I love Alec, both old and young? Young Alec is some kind of adorable teenage nerd that you can’t help but love and want to squeeze until he passes out from so much human contact. I’m looking forward to seeing how he develops, particularly some of the glimpses we get of future Alec. He looks like a pretty old badass. Like Walternate badass.

Okay, maybe not that badass. That might be asking a bit too much of the guy.

And season three of Lost Girl is starting off pretty darn good if I do say so myself. I’m loving that Hale is the “temporary” Ash, even if it goes against my hard-core shipping of Kenzi-Hale. Seriously, those are the two most fantastic sidekicks ever, and I absolutely love their banter. Season two almost made me fall over my couch in happiness and laughter. Again, I ship those two hard. I don’t think I’ve ever shipped something that wasn’t the main ship so hard. Kenzi and Hale have such a great chemistry, and I’d be very sad if it was put to the test because of Hale’s Ash status.

So that’s how I’m doing on the Powerful Mondays front. SyFy is bringing in some great stuff at an international scale for their scripted programming. Don’t seem too interested in doing their own stuff, besides the much anticipated Defiance, so it’s good that they’re getting their scripted show from somewhere. Now if they would just pick up the Primeval spinoff, my life would be complete.

About Merry Merino

It has recently come to my attention that I enjoy television too much. So I figure I should have a centralized location for all my fun theories and thoughts on the matter, frivolous and not, and sharing them to random strangers has far too much appeal than it should.
This entry was posted in Dramas, The First Season and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

