Is NBC’s ‘Revolution’ Testing the Cable Model?

I haven’t really posted anything on Revolution as of yet, and I’m partly blaming Castle. It is probably the only show currently on air where the will-they/won’t-they couple has gotten together and it didn’t destroy the show. Yet. It’s doing a much better job than Bones, that’s for sure. I’ve been so distracted by this that I continually put Revolution on the backburner, and have been at least an episode or two behind this entire season. But I’m all caught up now (I even watched the Fall finale when it originally aired!) and am ready to soak it all in.
Now I should preface this by saying that I had an initial bias against it. I was very afraid that it would turn all Terra Nova on me, and have sets they just wouldn’t be able to afford and would be so preposterous that I would just giggle. Fortunately, they have managed to keep the sets fairly natural (I imaging there are plenty of rundown and destroyed buildings in this economy) and have taken advantage of the natural landscape. If they didn’t, I would have laughed it away on production costs alone (like Terra Nova…).

Miles and Monroe

I’ve enjoyed the show for the most part. Billy Burke is a definite high point and my unnatural love of The Cape makes me squeal every time David Lyons is on screen, but the flashbacks of the other characters have really sold it for me. I LOVE seeing the various points in the characters’ lives that have turned them into the people they are now. That is the backbone of the show, not Monroe. He’s crazy. If you hadn’t gotten that already, are you paying attention? I mean, I get while he’s crazy, but he’s still crazy. That’s not all that interesting. And I’m certainly not watching it for the pseudoscience. That’s just silly. I want to get to know these people and value them, and the flashbacks are a great way to do this.

As to the relatively late renewal time, I have a theory. It’s probably a crazy theory and it might be wrong, but it’s a theory and I’m sticking to it. I’m not very familiar with this, but from the information I have learned recently through academic research (no really, it was part of my senior thesis), I think it’s a pretty good one. I have a sneaky suspicion that NBC is trying to switch from a broadcast model to a cable model. While everyone is complaining about the wait, I challenge you to this question: If this wait was on a cable channel (say affiliates USA or SyFy), would this wait be so unheard of? NO! Cable networks constantly work on an every other season release schedule, and I rarely hear complaints. And considering that cable shows are starting to be major competition to broadcast shows, maybe it’s not such a bad idea.

Though the marketing is wrong. Don’t make it a “Fall Finale,” make it a “Finale.” Then people are surprised and pleased when it comes back in March!

About Merry Merino

It has recently come to my attention that I enjoy television too much. So I figure I should have a centralized location for all my fun theories and thoughts on the matter, frivolous and not, and sharing them to random strangers has far too much appeal than it should.
This entry was posted in Dramas, The First Season and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

