A Week of Television

Today is review day, where I catch up on the things I couldn’t watch when they aired for various reasons, catch a ridiculous SyFy Saturday movie or two, and start prepping for another week of TV. I still haven’t watched it all, but I will talk about what I watched when it aired.

Sunday

Well, even though I tried not to, like every year, I end up watching The Emmys anyways. I despair at the lack of broadcast programs, and the annoying trend toward serial TV and “unique/original” programming. Not a single broadcast show was up for best drama this year. Sad, sad thing.

It was fun, the jokes were bad, and I will probably watch it again next year, even though I will protest not to. Great way to remind me of all the things I needed to catch up on or start watching this season. The high point for me has been the nominations, mostly because the SyFy movie Treasure Island got nominated for a few awards. Didn’t win, but it was great to see that ridiculosity listed.

Monday

Started with Bones, which is good fun. Really only watching because of long-standing dedication to the show. The relationship makes it feel like we’re starting all over again, and I’m enjoying watching them hate each other a little bit again. Reminds me of the good old days.

2 Broke Girls started off solid, and looking forward to more fun in the future. I’m not a huge fan of sitcoms, but this one still manages to keep me interested.

It was competing with Mob Doctor, but I  think we all know how that turned out. I doubt that thing is staying on air much longer.

Aaand Castle. You ridiculous man, the relationship with Beckett is working similarly to Bones, and it will be fun to watch this show from the beginning all over again.

As for Revolution… well, I’m not so sure about this one. The sets look a little too involved, and that was my theory as to why Terra Nova didn’t do so well. Besides the fact that it was ridiculous.

Tuesday

Tonight was a pretty heavy sitcom night. I still haven’t gotten caught up with everything, but I enjoyed what I did catch. New Girl is still adorkable fun, and I continue to enjoy Schmidt’s ridiculous antics more and more each episode. Hopefully this Jobless Jess thing gets resolved soon. I’m not sure how much I love it.

The Mindy Project looks fun. I love how it criticizes the ridiculous romantic notions that media have pumped into our brains. It’s fresh and critical, which I’m always a fan of.

Ben and Kate will probably do well, but it’s definitely not my cup of tea. Well, Ben isn’t my cup of tea. He mostly just drives me nuts. I could do without him.

I ended my night with Vegas, which I just couldn’t stay with. It could be the long day I had added to the late time slot, but I could barely stay awake. It’s probably the fact that it’s not competing with much that it did so well in the ratings.

Wednesday

For the next week or so, I don’t think I’m watching anything on Wednesdays. Arrow, Nashville, and American Horror Story don’t start till the 17th, and the comedies on right now I’m not a fan of. Animal Practice is cute, and I like that one. I know that everyone likes Modern Family, but I just don’t get it. As for Guys with Kids and The Neighbors… I’ll let The Cancellation Bear handle them.

Thursday

I missed Last Resort, but I’m going to say that I like it on principle alone. But until I finally watch it, no firm opinions on it.

Person of Interest started off strong, and I’m beyond excited to see more of Amy Acker’s “Root” in the coming weeks. The dog was a great addition, and like the baby of last season, I’m hoping for some more… interesting numbers to show up.

As for Elementary, I thought it was great, solid fun. I’m drawing similarities to Monk, and hope it turns out that way. It’s not Sherlock, which I didn’t like, and I’m hoping that they can maintain interesting enough cases for each week, worthy of the great Sherlock Holmes.

Friday

Is there any question as to what I watched today? Fringe Friday for the next 12 weeks, and very few things will come in my way. I’m not a huge fan of the current direction, but I very rarely am each season. The universe got a little out of the hands of its writers. But I know that like every season, I will enjoy it in the end when I look back.

 

Well, that was  this past week. I’ve got a lot of things to catch up on, even though the XII The Series marathon going on right now is definitely hampering that initiative. Maybe Sunday afternoon…

About Merry Merino

It has recently come to my attention that I enjoy television too much. So I figure I should have a centralized location for all my fun theories and thoughts on the matter, frivolous and not, and sharing them to random strangers has far too much appeal than it should.
This entry was posted in A Week of Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

