Castle starts all over again

I’ll be one of the first to admit that I wasn’t a big fan of the relationship development of the last season finale. And by not a big fan, I mean I was hiding behind my knitting and yelling “NO! NO! STOP! DON’T DO THAT!” at the TV.  This doesn’t mean that I didn’t see it coming. There was no way that they could start last season that way and not end it in any way other than Castle and Beckett getting together. I definitely didn’t have to like it.

Of course, I felt something similar with Bones, and like Bones, I’ll get over it. This is a new trend in the few lasting shows still around. Fortunately, I’d like to think we’ve learned something from Moonlighting, and can navigate this new development relatively painlessly.

Interestingly, shows like Castle are treating the relationship like it’s a whole new show, and that’s definitely a good idea. In the case of Castle and Beckett, everything they do is now placed in a whole new light, and definitely under a very fine microscope. It’s like a pilot season all over again, but with even more touchy fans. I don’t envy the writers in any way, but I look forward to seeing how they handle a whole new show.

Image

The fact that they don’t want to admit their relationship to their friends and coworkers is entertaining me, and so very like them. It took them four seasons to admit their feelings to each other, what makes you think they’ll admit it to others? Those two are far too insecure for anything but embarrassment. Plus, it’s just too much fun to not enjoy. Castle is a comedy; they weren’t going to let all that opportunity just go to waste!

About Merry Merino

It has recently come to my attention that I enjoy television too much. So I figure I should have a centralized location for all my fun theories and thoughts on the matter, frivolous and not, and sharing them to random strangers has far too much appeal than it should.
This entry was posted in Comedies/Sitcoms, Dramas and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

