‘Breakout Kings’ Starts Off Strong… and Looking Long Term

I’ve been hiding from the internet recently. It didn’t help that my cable and internet went out for like a week. But if there was ever anything that would bring me back, it would definitely be Breakout Kings. I started watching it last year when I was in England, broke, and completely bored out of my mind. For some reason (okay, it’s not that hard to figure out that I’m absolutely in love with Lloyd), this show has become an absolute favorite of mine, and I have been beyond excited about this new season for a long time. In fact, I don’t think I have been this excited about a season premier since I was a crazy Bones fan. That was a dark, dark time in my life.

So last night I was glued to my TV as Breakout Kings did a classic season three move a little early: introduced a recurring villain. Not that I blame them. This badass team of awesome can’t always catch them all; they aren’t Ash Ketchem. So when the gorgeous Jason Behr (Roswell) showed up on my TV, I may have done a little giddy dance. And at the end when he got away, to be seen again, I might have jumped up and down. Because this is exactly what the show needs to make it through season two. The strong series nature of this show is really working at a disadvantage in this age of television, and there really needs to be something strong in the narrative, not just the character development, to keep it going strong through this season.

Granted, there looks to be plenty of big stuff ahead, with the character death inducing leadership changes and whatever has gotten into Julianne, but season two is really important for character development anyways, so I’m not putting too much into this. Far too often the character development is put in the forefront, leaving the plots a bit wanting. Which is why there is frequently the recurring villain in the third season to save themselves. Got to give it to Breakout Kings for trying to keep tensions high, regardless of what is “the norm.” Now what they are going to do about season three… lets just ignore that problem for now. They’ll come up with something. I have faith.

About Merry Merino

It has recently come to my attention that I enjoy television too much. So I figure I should have a centralized location for all my fun theories and thoughts on the matter, frivolous and not, and sharing them to random strangers has far too much appeal than it should.
This entry was posted in Dramas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

