This is Funny… ‘This Means War’

This is going a bit off course, but on occasion I get the chance to see advanced screenings of movies. When something is worth saying about them, I will. Otherwise… meh. Last week I went and saw This Means War, and had such a good time that I figure it would be worth saying something about it. Which brings me to my little warning (in a good way) about this movie.

IT’S REALLY REALLY FUNNY!!

Now normally this wouldn’t be a big issue, and wouldn’t really need to be said. However, apparently this needs to be said. This is as a result of the great shock that I had when I went to this movie. I wasn’t planning on going to see this movie when it comes out. Maybe rent it from Redbox if I was so inclined. But highly unlikely. Since I could get free tickets, I figured why not. I’m glad I did. I had a great time, and there were heavy laughs throughout. The spy v. spy stuff was really lightheartedly done, and set in a very fictional CIA facitlity (much like Chuck‘s version of how spying goes about, not 007). Unfortunately, the trailers aren’t doing a very good job of portraying this, because otherwise I would have been looking forward to see this movie for free a lot more. I was expecting far more sinister animosity between Tom Hardy and Chris Pine, and since that’s not really something I like (when it’s relating to romance… because getting that serious about a relationship is just stupid), I wasn’t really looking forward to it. But my best friend was really looking forward to see it, so I figured why not. This really wasn’t the case. There was lots of lighthearted fun and even though they are pretty cutthroat about it, it’s so overdone that you just can’t take it seriously. Like Chuck. Perfectly overdone to deliver another adorable romantic comedy…

With stuff blowing up. I really liked the stuff blowing up.

And Chelsea Handler. She definitely makes this movie even more hilarious than it already is, in classically crass Chelsea Handler fashion. Usually I’m not a fan, but it was good fun in this one. Everything was just far too light and overdone to be taken in a negative way. I wasn’t incredibly thrilled with the ending, but considering certain plot points, I can see why it was done. It all turned out just peachy in the end… ish. They really do hate each other a lot for best friends.

About Merry Merino

It has recently come to my attention that I enjoy television too much. So I figure I should have a centralized location for all my fun theories and thoughts on the matter, frivolous and not, and sharing them to random strangers has far too much appeal than it should.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is Funny… ‘This Means War’

  1. Sir Twat says:

    This movie is gay and Chelsea Handler is a trollop.

    • Merry Merino says:

      I never said it was quality shit, just that I had a good time. Sometimes we need some lame gay stuff in our lives.

Leave a Reply

