The ‘New Girl’ Shows Some Backbone

I’m not entirely sure why enjoy this. Really. I’m not a huge fan of comedies in general, but I have a strange love of Zooey Deschanel, so I’m watching it. And it’s really cute. But I have a pretty strong natural aversion to comedies, since the characters are really just too two dimensional for me normally. Which is probably why I enjoyed this episode so much. Jess had to stand up for why she is such an adorably girly and naive girl, and that’s a fantastic character development thing for the show. Plus Winston’s realization that he needs to develop socially. That was great too!

Truly, I am watching this show for the fun of watching this show. It’s cute and adorable, while simultaneously having just enough snark through Nick. And his fantastic current girlfriend Julia, played by the even more fantastic Lizzie Caplan. I loved her in Party Down, and seeing her now in New Girl, if even for just a short time, has been fantastic for me. Too many of the characters simply accept Jess’ actions as “Just Being Jess,” and finally someone is questioning that. I will admit, I’m a bit like Jess at times (okay, far more often than I would really like to comfortably admit to strangers). So watching her stand up for being cute was a very encouraging for me. I am allowed to be quirky, that’s who I am, and I will stand my ground! Awesome.

Thankfully, New Girl isn’t trying to be anything more than just a cute and quirky show yet. The minute we get the drama-llamas, I might just break my Zooey Deschanel rule and leave. It will be a hard thing to do, and it will probably involve some kind of ridiculous ceremony of some kind, but it will have to be done. I’m predicting it as more of an “end of second season, beginning of third” kind of thing. Hopefully I’m wrong and it will continue to be cute for a long long time, but I know that’s just me sticking my head in the clouds. Mostly because this show is just too much fun for me to let go without a fight. And I couldn’t even tell you why if I tried.

On a slightly side note of irksomeness: “Crochet Time” didn’t have many characters crocheting. Jess and Sadie were knitting, I’m not entirely sure what CeCe was doing, and Julia was the only one who was actually crocheting. Knitting uses two needles, crocheting uses one hook. That was far more of a “Fiber Arts Time” than a “Crochet Time” (even if they were using nasty acrylic… I’m totally going to be a yarn snob here!).  Get it right, people!

About Merry Merino

It has recently come to my attention that I enjoy television too much. So I figure I should have a centralized location for all my fun theories and thoughts on the matter, frivolous and not, and sharing them to random strangers has far too much appeal than it should.
This entry was posted in Comedies/Sitcoms, The First Season and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

