‘Touch’… so Touching I Fell Asleep

Well, that might be an overstatement. It was definitely not the super-engaging experience we’re used to seeing Kiefer Sutherland in. In fact, it’s on the complete other end of the spectrum. For the entire first half of the show I wasn’t entirely sure if this would be something I would even enjoy, and I’m still not entirely sure. It does suit broadcast television well, as possibly the most blasé procedural I have ever seen in my life. That’s saying something.

If and only if the writers manage to keep an audience in this day and age with that style of writing, it will definitely become a very widely syndicated show. I can see it. But that’s only if it does well. I’m not entirely convinced in its success. Like I said, I almost turned off the TV or went to something else because I was so bored. But I didn’t. I’m a moderately sometimes good person, and I give nearly every show a fair shot. So I will watch it when it comes back in March.

Which makes me think about this fantastic marketing strategy that FOX has taken on. Pretty good for the shows too… I think. Mostly for the things that they think will do well. Having these advanced airings of shows the season before they are supposed to air is probably a great way to get the “buzz” going. And considering that I’m writing my blog post now proves their point. Glee did really well with it, really amping up the hype for the show. The Finder tried to do the same, particularly since it’s the creator of Bones‘ Hart Hanson. I don’t think it did very well in that regard. The Finder really has fallen flat. But it’s still in its infancy, so I will give it the benefit of the doubt. Like Touch. But as of now, I’m not impressed. Which might come as a surprise, considering last night’s really good ratings.

About Merry Merino

It has recently come to my attention that I enjoy television too much. So I figure I should have a centralized location for all my fun theories and thoughts on the matter, frivolous and not, and sharing them to random strangers has far too much appeal than it should.
This entry was posted in Dramas, The First Season and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

