‘Lost Girl’ has me Enthralled to the TV by its Succubus

I will begin this post by saying that I’m a terrible person and totally cheated. Last week when I first found out about Lost Girl, I immediately perused the internet for more information on this fantastic show. Unfortunately, I then discovered that it was an acquired show of SyFy and was already two seasons ahead in Canada. Needless to say, while I was a bit under the weather (both metaphorically and physically, since I was hiding from the feet of snow to be found outside of my apartment) I hunkered down and watched them all. Well, almost. I plan on finishing this evening or tomorrow. That’s not to say that I didn’t watch it again last night. I did. It’s just that frakking good. Or maybe I was distracted by the Kris Holden-Ried mancandy.

Both are entirely possible, but I’m leaning toward some brilliant writing and a fantastic cast. Those writers definitely do there homework, that’s for sure. The show strongly reminds me of Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely series, but significantly more optimistic. Now that woman is really good with the Fae lore, and as a result is not as light as Lost Girl. Lost Girl has to make a few more concessions on Fae lore than Melissa Marr does (anyone that tells you the Fae are “good” is just straight up lying to you… yes I’m looking at you, Disney), but still keeps with it a lot better than most. How they manage to be both dark and optimistic I will probably never figure out, but I love it. I love learning about new Fae each episode as the lead character, Bo, helps one individual or another. Particularly since her non-allegiance to Dark or Light just wouldn’t have been tolerated as it is portrayed by the show in traditional Fae lore.

Now this show has a lot stronger arc than it “needs” to have, but because of its dependence on the incredibly strong character relationships, I suppose the strong arc is necessary. If it wasn’t for the fantasy aspect, I would think it to be more of a USA show than its brother SyFy’s. That is how well written and developed these shows are, and I don’t say that for just anybody. It takes a lot to be USA character strong. Then again, there is some significantly better writing than most USA shows (not that I don’t love USA… characters welcome all the way!), so I will keep it on the SyFy side.

Furthermore, I will admit to an awkward lesbian crush on Kenzi. This adorable human has some of the best lines in the whole show. Definitely keep an eye out for those in the future. This crush is completely unrelated to the equally awkward on screen relationship which Bo and Lauren share. But hey, I’ve got to respect the daring to put that kind of relationship on television, no questions or qualms about it. Part of this could be that it’s Canada, and so I’ll be watching the SyFy airings closely to see if they fudge things a bit to downplay their potential relationship as far as screen time goes. If so, you will be warned and I will protest strongly.

Well, kind of strongly. I’m not very good at that stuff. You might see some strong words. Maybe… or I might just grumble. It’s a bit more fun. People look at you funny.

Wow. I can’t remember the last time I was this positive about a show. I should go watch Alcatraz while I still have all this happy juice flowing in me. Maybe it will make me like it more.

About Merry Merino

It has recently come to my attention that I enjoy television too much. So I figure I should have a centralized location for all my fun theories and thoughts on the matter, frivolous and not, and sharing them to random strangers has far too much appeal than it should.
This entry was posted in Dramas, The First Season and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

