Will ‘Once’ Be Short and Sweet, or Haunt me Forever?

Once Upon A Time had me convinced from the very beginning. It has been on my favorites list for a while, but the break had not been good to this show. The episodes around it just haven’t had me the way they should. Fortunately, last night fixed that for me. I may or may not have been making dinner at the time, and I may or may not have had to whip out some leftovers from an abandoned meal. I admit to being a total softy when it comes to Mary Margaret and David, but their story seems to have a stronger relevance to the overall story line than the constant stand alones that are plaguing this show. I mean, I should recognize that there will be a lot of stand alones by the nature of the show, but I  I really do enjoy the fun twist they take on fairy tales. Mr. Gold’s back story will always be a favorite of mine.

Shoot me, but I kind of want this show to be a one, maybe two season wonder (like Pushing Daisies and Heroes should have been). And the only way that is happening (if it ever happens) is if they speed things up a bit. I strongly believe in the limited life of a TV show, and this is definitely a place where short but sweet would rule supreme. Unfortunately, network television doesn’t play well with shorter series, even though it needs to have a definitive number of seasons it intends on airing. So I will shoot for the stars and hope for five. Four seasons for syndication, and another one for good luck. That’s still not leaving them much time to get this ball rolling. So even though it was dragged out a bit, I still loved this episode. Because it brought us back to the arc, and I will always appreciate that.

By the way, absolutely LOVED that there was an eighth dwarf. Stealthy? Awesome. It’s the fun twists like this that keep me coming back each week.

About Merry Merino

It has recently come to my attention that I enjoy television too much. So I figure I should have a centralized location for all my fun theories and thoughts on the matter, frivolous and not, and sharing them to random strangers has far too much appeal than it should.
This entry was posted in Dramas, The First Season and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

